Sometimes, I Prefer Insomnia

I was going to post this earlier this morning (as in 5am), but Firefox was not playing well with the Blogger sign in page — the Hubby just discovered a work-around. Yay, Hubby!

Referring to the title of this post — yes, I was about to have another Insomnia Night. No good reason why — I wasn’t sleepy when I went to bed, even though I was exhausted, if that makes sense. After staring at the insides of my eyelids for nearly an hour, I got my non-sleeping self out of bed, headed for the home office, and read _A Companion to the Chronicles of Narnia_ until I felt myself start to drift to sleep. Then I hauled my little self to bed before I got too wakey, and dropped off.

Unfortunately, surreal nightmares made my sleep exhausting. Random, violent, physically active crap , and then I’d wake up from the dream, feeling stiff and sore. I did this at least four times last night. In the last dream I had before waking up at 5am, I was running away from Something Awful and fell down because I was having a heart attack. Crap crap crap crap crap! “Okay, this is a dream. I will wake up now.” So I wake up, the center of my chest aching while my body from the waist up feels like a single piece of lumber while the muscles underneath feel as if they’ve been worked over by another piece of lumber.

Oy vey. And, funnily enough, I was having a pretty good day until I went to sleep. I mean,

1) I finished my round of dissertation revision, printed the new draft out, copied it, and delivered one copy to my Dissertation Director.

2) While I was on campus, I ran into two old friends who were my professors, Father Robert and Father James. I talked briefly (all too briefly) with Fr. Robert in the English Department hallway (mostly about the future), and I talked at length with Fr. James in his office (mostly about the past). It’s always good to see both of them, but time also always seem to slow down and stop when I talk to them so that, when I leave, I feel as if I have to remind myself what the date is.

3) Tuesday evenings are turning into “watch Science Tuesday on PBS while doing laundry and other random housework” evenings so that I don’t have to do them on the weekend. I watched Nova about Megafloods (really cool, that one), while doing laundry, decluttering the home office, did a paper recycle run (post-PBS), and crocheted some more on my sweater while watching the news on ABC and then on PBS again. After getting one side of the sweater looking sweater-ly, I declared the day A Good Day, closed up the house (the Hubby turned in earlier because of his 8am class tomorrow), and went to bed.

A Good Day, a Sucky Night/Early Morning. Sometimes, I prefer insomnia. But now, mmmm-mmmm-good whey protein shake breakfast! 🙂

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

