42

Yes, yes, today is the opening day of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy movie. I’ve only been waiting for this movie for, oh, twenty-years.

I remember when I first heard of Hitchhiker’s — the local PBS station played the TV miniseries in the mid-80s, and when I found out that they were based on books, I bought them up. When I found out that there was an Apple text-based game (and me with an Apple IIe), I bought that up as well. I even made my own T-shirt in my freshman year in high school. I wore it to my first (and so far only) Weird Al concert in spring 1987 (he was the opening act for the Monkees, a band I also like), and, after Weird Al was gone and while my gal friend slathered over Peter Tork, her favorite Monkee, I geeked with a guy who was sitting next to us about Hitchhiker’s. In retrospect, I should’ve asked for his number, or he mine. But, hey, we were fifteen years old dorks — what did we know about dating? 🙂

What’s cool about discovering Douglas Adams during my high school years was that four out of five of his Hitchhiker’s books were out and I didn’t have to wait years for the next installment. I gobbled up _The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy_, _The Restaurant at the End of the Universe_, _Life, the Universe, and Everything_, and _So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish_. I geeked about all of them to my friend, Don Dao, who became my friend one day when he saw me reading in class _Life, the Universe, and Everything_.

I have a first edition _Dirk Gentley’s Holistic Detective Agency_ hardback, when it came out in 1987. I have Neil Gaiman’s _The Official Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Companion_. I bought the last Hitchhiker’s novel, _Mostly Harmless_ in a W.H. Smith’s in Victoria Station, London, in the fall of 1993, during my senior year in college.

So, yeah… the movie. I’ll be there. And if I can find a local T-shirt silk-screener, then I’ll even wear my Hitchhiker’s T-shirt, looking like the total Douglas Adams fan-dork that I am.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture, QUIRKS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

