Know Thyself

Late last night I learned something about myself that made me simultaneously laugh and cry so hard that it hurt to breathe for a few minutes, things in my past that hovered ghost-like without me realizing that I was even haunted. Whether that ghost was exorcised or not, I’m not certain, but with the love and support of friends and family I can say in all happy sincerety that knowing yourself is a bitch.

I just finished going over _Oedipus Rex_ with my ENGL 1302 class, and I suppose I’m in an ancient Greek mood. “Know Thyself” is the inscription over the Oracle of Delphi (I’ve been to Delphi, saw the Oracle, but, oddly enough, don’t remember much about that day, other than it was sunny and windy), and it’s what Socrates said the Pythian priestess told him, thus launching his notorious search for the wisest man in the world. Some say that the other inscription over the Oracle of Delphi is “Thou Art.” — Know yourself. You are. Pretty simple, eh?

Like a calculus formula, there are reams and reams of meaning and information, inferences and assumptions, axioms and beliefs, that have to happen before one can really understand those two statements, a command and a conclusion. There’s a journey between those two points, and that journey is one’s life.

So, last night, I learned something about myself, and the question I ask myself is, “Where do I go from here?” I suppose I have the rest of my life to figure that out.

Cheers…

This entry was posted in EDUCATION, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

