Ch-ch-changes!

I really ought to haul my flea-bitten self to bed (the four cats have come down with sandfleas… bleah) — the hubby has gone to bed, and my two housemates, before retiring, asked, “What are you still doing up?” But there are some thoughts caroming about my head that I’ll put here for your perusal:

1) I’ve interviewed for a teaching position at one of the local community colleges here, and I think I’ve done pretty well, well enough that I may actually get it. What’s weird is that I’m having second thoughts on this position if I *do* get an offer. Why weird? Because I would be getting more money (by at least $10K more a year than I’m getting right now at my current position), the facilities and infrastructure at the community college is better, and the students are more diverse, ethnically and academically, to boot. Why the second thoughts? Because the position is a two-year temporary position with an option to compete in a national search for a permanent position (but not guaranteed that I’d get it), I’d have less of a voice, politically speaking, at this school than my current school, I’d lose the title of “Assistant Professor” for “Visiting Scholar” (although, honestly, that’s not really as much a concern for me as one would think), I’d lose a de facto permanent “I’ll be employed at this school until the school no longer exists” position, and I’d lose the camraderie of close friends and some students who, surprisingly, made my fourth-tier school feel like a second home to me. So, I’m split.

2) The hubby and I are looking at buying a house which is right next door to the current house that we’re sharing with Bunny and Boxing Alcibiades. Even though I’ve window-shopped for houses for the past few months, I’ve actually put it on hold while working on the dissertation, until, coming home one day, I saw the “For Sale” sign next door. I’ve gotten two pre-qual letters from two lenders that said we’d be able to afford this house (www.mortgageexpo.com is cool), but I’m still stunned that by the end of this summer, the hubby and I may be moved out and into our own home. To say the least, homebuying is a little scary because the process is still a bit of a mystery to me, and we’d be taking on a mortgage on top of massive amounts of education loan debt. But, I guess, it’s time for the two households to have room to breathe and grow, although I’ll miss the pseudo-dorm life/ student apartment feel that I’ve lived for the past two years with having housemates and, before that for the past four years, with having roommates. I know that my family, who has been waiting for me to get my own home, will be happy finally to unload all of that *furniture* that they’ve been saving for me but couldn’t because we couldn’t fit it in the shared house. So, this house (and we should get it, I think), is a Good Thing, but it’s a Good Thing wrapped up with mixed emotions. I guess all Good Things are like that.

Signing off now… and good night.

This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Personal Wealth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

