Dissertation Update

I’ve written six pages on the rough draft of my dissertation. And you know the whole “index cards” thing that we all learned in writing research papers? I have *never* liked doing that and, after high school, I never did it again. I tried doing it for me dissertation last year, and you know how well that went over. Blech. But I have a good, solid outline of my *entire* dissertation (it’s on my approved proposal), I’ve added page lengths to each section of my outline (with tentative due dates), and my bibliography is now over 80 sources long with room to grow into about 100-120 sources by the time I’m finished with the sucker. I’m hoping that I’ll get about halfway through the rough draft (that’s 100 pages) by the end of the summer, but that’s my *ideal* goal. As it is, I’m just happy that I got 6 pages in four working days!

Divide and conquer’s the name of the game, folks. Divide and conquer…

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Academic Research, AVOCATIONS, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

