Dissertation, yo!

Drastic procrastination tactics mean drastic counters.

Last summer, I totally blew off my dissertation. Granted, I was getting married that summer. Granted, the honeymoon, the post-wedding paperwork (like thank-you notes and whatnot) and post-wedding trips to visit new in-laws took up some time. Granted, I helped one of my housemates move some of his late mom’s stuff from the East coast to the Third coast (as Texas is sometimes called). But all of that ended by mid-July, and I had a solid month before the academic year began, a solid month before I had to report back to work at my school. So did I work on my dissertation at all?

Nuh-uh. Instead I turned Uberhausfrau and became a Stepford Martha Stewart. I cooked. I cleaned. I ran errands. Hell, I even made ground beef by grinding soup meat and chuck steak with my new Kitchen Aid appliance!

Clearly, this must not happen again.

And so, I have exiled myself this summer from the house from 8am to 5pm, leaving to go to either one of three campuses so that the *only* thing in front of me are my books and my notes. That’s it. No TV or Kitchen Aid to tempt me. I have to treat my dissertation like an unpaid fulltime job or else this thing will just sit there and fester. And that ain’t pretty.

I’ve begun this schedule on Thursday. I’m giving myself the evenings, weekends, and holidays off. So far, I have six books checked out and one page written. So, we’ll see how far I go this summer. I got my fingers crossed…

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in Academic Research, AVOCATIONS, The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

