Speaking of Improving…

… I’m tweaking my Composition II syllabus yet again. Every semester, I do this, pretty much making each semester’s Comp II classes test subjects. I still feel mildly diffident about the syllabus, and I’m getting wildly disparate results of really good on one end and absolute failure on the other, like a narrow valley as opposed to a bell curve. In contrast, my Composition I syllabus is working out really well — well structured, very confident in my presentation, and my students have no problem following the work. I’ve taught out of the same Composition I book for years, and the skills and techniques I’ve taught have helped my students in their other classes and on standardized tests in which they had to give writing samples and demonstrate editing skills via multiple-choice. So, I’m rethinking my Composition I and Composition II classes as perhaps a cohesive whole (like high school English classes) as opposed to the college-type of discrete, semester classes, making Composition II a seamless continuation of Comp I. The problem is that the textbooks are very different from each other, in layout and in material. Some tweaking there. But, I think, once I do this, then I should get better results — better teaching from me, better learning from my students. As I tell my students, my job is to help them develop confidence in what they’re learning and in themselves. Similarly, I hope to develop confidence in what I’m teaching and in myself.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in EDUCATION, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

