Radio Silence

I’ve come back from Spring Break, doing the grand road trip through Austin, Houston, and New Orleans, when I realized something…

… I really didn’t do much “vacation-wise” on my Spring Break.

What did I do on my Spring Break? Lots of driving, since I like driving and driving *fast* on those interstate highways (as my hubby pointed out to me and as that small town Louisiana cop reminded me on the drive back — oops!). Hanging out with friends in their homes. Some window shopping. Eating out. Sleeping. Watching TV (including children’s programming — the _Dora the Explorer_ exploration song is infectious).

As we were wandering around the French Quarter in New Orleans (post Mardi Gras it’s a lot like a grownup Disney World minus the rides), and heard my friend, a native Nawlins-ian, pretty much downplay New Orleans (nice to visit, but living here, ehhh…), I realized that I don’t go “tourist” where I live, and, actually, I suspect that most people don’t go see the touristy places of their hometown, even places that they’ve never seen nor gone because, I guess, “we live here, we’ll get to it eventually.” I’ve lived in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex for 22 years, and I’ve never gone to the State Fair of Texas nor the Fort Worth Stockyards. Ranches dot the area, and I’ve never learned to ride a horse. I think, sometime, I need to “go tourist” to where I am, maybe even spend a night or two in one of those expensive hotels here.

Heck, at least learn how to ride a horse, for goodness sakes!

On an unrelated note, _Hidalgo_ is a good movie. Lots of horses. Really cool. And it makes you both proud and sad to be an American; for those who’s seen it, you know what I mean.

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

