On Eating a Big Breakfast

Remember those lessons in health in elementary school, where the teacher said, “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day”? Or maybe all of those breakfast food / cereal commercials saying that stuff? Well, they’re right.

I’m a boring meal-eater. Every breakfast is my flavoured yogurt-milk-soy shake. Every lunch is my bowl of oatmeal-craisins-walnuts. Every dinner is something that used to say moo, cluck-cluck, oink, or whatever sealife says when startled. In a fit of wanting something different (and we had all of this leftover rice from last night’s dinner and I said that I’d do so to one of my roomies), I actually woke up early and made *bacon*.

Yes, in a previous blog, I wrote about bacon in regards to cholesterol, but a recent article came out somewhat vindicating Atkins (the low-carb, high protein guy), and, according to Atkins, a diligent follower of the Atkins program not only creates weight loss but also, paradoxically enough, low cholesterol. For the skinny (pun intended) on all of this, check out the link below:

http://www.diabetes-normalsugars.com/articles/fatlie.shtml

So — ahem. Bacon. With leftover rice. And sliced cherry tomatoes. Eaten with my fingers. It reminded me of my childhood because, in my Filipino household, breakfast was usually leftover dinner or scrambled eggs with tomato and onions with rice on the side. If one of my family members was early enough, then there would be bacon or Jimmy Dean sausage.

This is BREAKFAST.

This is what I grew up with. So when I had to forego lunch in high school (for various reasons, all of them kind of stupid), I could do it and wasn’t starving in the process.

So, my breakfast today was three slices of bacon, a handful of cooked rice, and a handful of sliced cherry tomatoes, all washed down with a cup of coffee n’ milk. I tell ya — I really didn’t need my bowl o’ oatmeal, and, oddly enough, with a breakfast that heavy (heavy in comparison to most people’s breakfast of cereal or some other on-the-run baked good), I was *wide awake*. I’m pretty sure the coffee helped, but that shot of meat in the morning sure was good.

There’s something to it, about eating a good breakfast in the morning.

So, what’s your breakfast? And does it last to lunch, or do you run out of steam around the 10am breaktime?

About lizardqueen

If single-mothering were a paid job, I'd be rich. However, it doesn't, so I write (which doesn't pay the bills) and teach (which does). I'm overly-educated in the liberal arts, but that doesn't hinder my ability to be pragmatic and realistic. YAY.
This entry was posted in AVOCATIONS, Food, Health and Longevity, SCIENCE & TECH. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Eating a Big Breakfast

  1. lizardqueen says:

    D: I’m right with you, there — if I can eat a big, protein-and-fat rich breakfast, then I’m good until early afternoon (about 2-ish pm).

  2. Diana says:

    Usually I would try to eat a small b-fast and have a cup of oatmeal, or just a cup of coffee or chocolate milk. But I would get hungry again two hours later. Eating eggs and bacon for b-fast holds me over until the afternoon and I don’t even think about food, so I’m going to enjoy this!

  3. thelastbassdiaries says:

    ha ha! Cool

    8)

  4. thelastbassdiaries says:

    Children’s cereal is cool. Cheerios feed my own inner child on many a busy day.

    The Simpson’s episode is one of my favourites. Kudos. (pretend there’s a smiley of your choice here, cause I haven’t worked out how to put them in yet…)

  5. lizardqueen says:

    After five years — well, better late than never! 🙂

    These days, my breakfast seems to consist of children’s cereal or anything I can drink in a car, hurtling down a highway.

  6. thelastbassdiaries says:

    After carefully considering my response for the last five years to the question “what do you eat for breakfast?” I can now reveal that I never, in fact, eat any kind of breakfast at all, nor lunch, but make up for it in the early evening by having a really big tea with lots of cake for afters while I’m watching Doctor Who on the telly.

    Thank you for asking.

Leave a Reply

