Illegal Immigration and the Campaign Trail

From Immigration: The Hottest Issue:

A few days after thanksgiving, I asked Mike Huckabee what had surprised him about voters over the past six months of campaigning. “The intensity of the immigration issue,” he said immediately, and then added, “I honestly don’t know why it’s gotten so hot.” Huckabee gets points for candor: most of the presidential candidates I’ve spoken with in recent months feel the same way but aren’t about to say so. It is difficult to spend a day on the trail and not see the anger explode.

Hmmm… more a hot-button issue than Iraq, eh?  Imagine that!

I agree with Clinton’s and Huckabee’s assessment, BTW, that it’s based on the economy:

During the 1990s, I cannot remember being asked about immigration… Why? Because the economy was working… And average Americans didn’t have to go around looking for someone to blame.”

I’m curious if it will be so one year from now, when it counts in the voting booths…

This entry was posted in History & Currents Events, LQ POV. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Illegal Immigration and the Campaign Trail

  1. Poignant but true… I find the republican immigration stance somewhat ridiculous myself. Build a two thousand mile fence? Fences are terrible at keeping animals out (I should know) – now try millions of people. An abysmal waste of money.

    Amnesty? Hard to say – I would allow amnesty, but only without government programs for a meaningful period. The fact is that cheap labor has a very high cost.

Leave a Reply

